Be that girl for a month

taylorOne of the fun things psychopaths do is play games with people who don’t know it’s a game. As Taylor Swift sang in Blank Space,

Find out what you want
Be that girl for a month

200_PandLcoverAs Adelyn Birch says in Psychopaths and Love, “When targeted by a psychopath, we unwittingly become an opponent in a game we dont even know were playing.” Except I don’t look at the other players as “opponents.” I just see them as actors in a play I wrote, directed and starred in.

 

walkerAs a child, I belonged to two “enemy gangs.” Just little kid stuff. I liked both gangs so I told each of them I was spying on the other so I got to play with both groups. When I got older, I liked to “be” a character in a book I read. I could play a chosen role for periods of time without anyone being the wiser. It’s a heady feeling. As John Walker said in Family of Spies, “You get the sense that everyone’s asleep and you’re the only one awake.”


Leave a Reply

